Keep On Learning, or How To Improve the Craft


I’ve spent most of my professional life in the (computer) tech world.  That is an environment  where change is constant and the need to enhance existing skills and acquire new ones is never ending.  I’ve gotten pretty good at identifying what new skills to gain and resources for enhancing those I have, so I figured doing something similar with my photo skills would be similar…WRONG!

While many of the computer technical skills are also a craft, all you need is the right code (and don’t get me started on what constitutes “right”) to do what is needed.  At one level, this may apply to photography where the “how” of camera mechanics doesn’t change although the terms used by different manufacturers may.  To a certain extent the same applies to the software for getting the most out of your images.  Where it differs is that photography is also about the art of the image.

If I am going to put together a website, I (or someone who has actual graphic art talent) can do a layout from which the web page can be built.  From there, it’s just a matter of fine tuning of colors, spacing, etc.  With a photograph it just doesn’t work that way.  Take a dozen photographers, show them the same subject and ask them to photograph it, you will get twelve very different images.  Angles, lighting, composition, colors, post processing, etc. will allow each photographer to show how s/he sees that subject.  Having said that, there are still a lot of things about what makes a good photograph that apply to all images.  That is where things get different for me.

Having started the photo website, I looked into a number of photo clubs.  I settled on two, one because it meets very close to my home and the other because it is just about nature photography, something I really like.  Both clubs are very open and welcoming.  What is really helpful to me is that in both clubs, the people are open and friendly, willing to share what they know about something that we are all passionate about.

I know that there is only one way to improve a skill, practice and lots of it.  Unlike software development, working with images requires constructive criticism and feedback from both typical viewers and knowledgeable critics.  With a little coaxing and disclaiming getting offended by honest input, family and friends can be a great source for the former.  Finding the later is not so easy.  Yes I could enroll in a formal program to improve those skills and get feedback from the instructor, but I don’t have the time or inclination for that.

Through the Hillsborough Digital Photo Club, I was fortunate enough to meet Jim Roselli of Artistic Efex.  Jim’s knowledge of photography, from setting up a shot to actually getting the shot as well as post processing and printing seems to be limitless.  What’s more, he has been incredibly generous in sharing his knowledge with me.  So far I have only gotten a small taste, but it has made a significant difference in how I am seeing and capturing images.  I’m still learning the post processing tools, so I haven’t been able to take advantage of all his pearls of wisdom in that arena.  Jim and his partner Jim LaSalla produce incredible images across various media.  Take a look here to see what I mean. (P.S. the website doesn’t really do justice to many of the images!)

One nice thing about digital photography is that it is much easier to manage images, both in the camera as well as post processing than was the case with film.  Having said that, with the myriad of options available, digital photography has become its own discipline.  I still have a lot to learn and I’m hopeful that as I gain more knowledge and experience my images will reflect that.

Published by

John Feist Photography

I am a photographer in central New Jersey. My photography covers a number of categories, mostly nature, street, travel and black & white. I initially set up this blog to document my efforts at becoming a professional photographer. Since then I've expanded it to discuss topics that I think are relevant to good photography and occasionally document my travels and photographic adventures. Please feel free to comment, constructively, on any of my posts. I'm always open to honest criticism of my post or photography.

Leave a Reply

